BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN – The Minister of Home Affairs has urged more people to get involved in local government by participating in the election process of grassroots leaders. 

During a dialogue session held at the Brunei-Muara District Office on Tuesday, Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Kerna Dato Seri Setia Hj Abu Bakar Hj Apong stressed the importance of high voter turnout during the election of village heads and penghulus.

He added that voter turnout should be no less than a third of the total number of registered voters of a particular village or mukim. 

Sharing an example from two village head elections held in the Temburong district last month, the minister cited the high voter turnout in Kg Amo at 70 percent, and Kg Bokok at 59 percent.

Pehin Dato Hj Abu Bakar also hoped for more youth involvement in grassroots institutions, whether by participating in the voting process or standing as a candidate in future elections.

During the dialogue, the Ministry of Home Affairs revealed that in Brunei-Muara district there will be eight vacancies for penghulus and 44 vacancies for village heads advertised on October 1 (see list below).

According to regulations, candidates must be male, a member of one of the seven indigenous groups of Brunei, and between 30 and 55 years old at the time of nomination.

The minimum academic requirement for village heads is two O-level credits, while penghulus need a higher national diploma.

Both positions require five years’ experience in of administration, management and supervision. Applicants are also expected to be active in their respective village or mukim consultative council or mosque committees.

The salary for village heads range from $1,280 to $4,240, depending on an applicant’s qualifications and experience; while the salary for penghulus ranges from $3,880 to $5,400.

For members of the public who wish to nominate a candidate, they may obtain a form from the Brunei-Muara District Office. The form must be signed by the candidate, nominator and two other supporters. The deadline for nominations is October 31.

Vacancies for penghulus:

  1. Mukim Berakas ‘A’
  2. Mukim Serasa
  3. Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  4. Mukim Kianggeh
  5. Mukim Lumapas
  6. Mukim Kilanas
  7. Mukim Pangkalan Batu
  8. Mukim Sengkurong

Vacancies for village heads:

  1. Kampung Kampung Lambak ‘A’, Mukim Berakas ‘A’
  2. Kampung Lambak ‘B’, Mukim Berakas ‘A’
  3. Kampung Manggis I dan Manggis II, Mukim Berakas ‘B’
  4. Kampung Sungai Tilong, Mukim Berakas ‘B’
  5. Kampung Tanah Jambu, Mukim Mentiri
  6. Kawasan 1, Kampung Rancangan Perumahan Negara Mentiri, Mukim Mentiri
  7. Kawasan 2, Kampung Rancangan Perumahan Negara Mentiri, Mukim Mentiri
  8. Kampung Rancangan Perumahan Negara Kampung Tanah Jambu, Mukim Mentiri
  9. Kampung Mentiri, Mukim Mentiri
  10. Kampung Belimbing, Mukim Kota Batu
  11. Kampung Menunggol, Mukim Kota Batu
  12. Kampung Subok, Mukim Kota Batu
  13. Kampung Pudak, Mukim Kota Batu
  14. Kampung Pulau Baru-Baru, Sungai Bunga dan Tanjong Kindana, Mukim Kota Batu
  15. Kawasan 1, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  16. Kawasan 2, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  17. Kawasan 3, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  18. Kawasan 4, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  19. Kawasan 5, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  20. Kampung Katok dan Tungku, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  21. Kampung Kiulap, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  22. Kampung Perpindahan Mata-Mata, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  23. Kampung Menglait, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  24. Kampung Pengkalan Gadong, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  25. Skim Tanah Kurnia Rakyat Jati Katok ‘B’, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  26. Kampung Tasek Meradun dan Bunut, Mukim Kilanas
  27. Kampung Tanjong Bunut, Mukim Kilanas
  28. Kampung Bunut Perpindahan, Mukim Kilanas
  29. Kampung Madewa dan Telanai, Mukim Kilanas
  30. Kampung Jangsak, Mukim Kilanas
  31. Kampung Lumapas ‘A’, Mukim Lumapas
  32. Kampung Lumapas ‘B’, Mukim Lumapas
  33. Kampung Putat, Mukim Lumapas
  34. Kampung Kasat, Mukim Lumapas
  35. Kampung Pengkalan Batu, Mukim Pengkalan Batu
  36. Kampung Junjungan, Mukim Pengkalan Batu
  37. Kampung Bebuloh, Mukim Pengkalan Batu
  38. Kampung Sengkurong ‘B’, Mukim Sengkurong
  39. Kampung Mulaut, Mukim Sengkurong
  40. Kampung Tanjong Nangka, Mukim Sengkurong
  41. Kampung Jerudong, Mukim Sengkurong
  42. Kampung Jerudong ‘B’ (Peninjau), Mukim Sengkurong
  43. Kampung Kulapis, Mukim Sengkurong 
  44. Kampung Kapok, Mukim Serasa