BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN – The Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA) will be kicking off roadshows for the mass recruitment of mukim penghulu and village head candidates starting October 1.


  • Brunei-Muara: Monday, October 1 at 9am and 2.30pm, theater hall of the Brunei-Muara District Office (new building).
  • Belait — Tuesday, October 2 at 9am, Dewan Persidangan Kuala Belait.
  • Tutong — Wednesday, October 3 at 9am, main hall of Kompleks Dewan Kemasyaratan Tutong.
  • Temburong — Thursday, October 4 at 9am, main hall of Kompleks Dewan Kemasyarakatan Pekan Bangar.


Candidates must be male, a member of one of the seven indigenous groups of Brunei, and between 30 and 55 years old at the time of nomination.

The minimum academic requirement for village heads is two O-level credits, while penghulus need a higher national diploma.

Both positions require five years’ experience in of administration, management and supervision. Applicants are also expected to be active in their respective village or mukim consultative council or mosque committees.

The salary for village heads range from $1,280 to $4,240, depending on an applicant’s qualifications and experience; while the salary for penghulus ranges from $3,880 to $5,400.

Full regulations governing the nomination and election of grassroots leaders can be obtained from the respective district offices.



  1. Mukim Rambai
  2. Mukim Keriam
  3. Mukim Ukong
  4. Mukim Pekan Tutong

Village head:

  1. Kampung Benutan, Mukim Rambai
  2. Kampung Penanjong, Mukim Pekan Tutong
  3. Kampung Sengkarai, Mukim Pekan Tutong
  4. Kampung Layong, Mukim Lamunin
  5. Kampung Keriam, Mukim Keriam
  6. Kampung Kupang, Mukim Keriam
  7. Kampung Ukong, Mukim Ukong
  8. Kampung Danau, Mukim Telisai
  9. Kampung Rambai, Mukim Rambai
  10. Kampung Merimbun, Mukim Rambai
  11. Kampung Panchor, Mukim Pekan Tutong
  12. Kampung Penabai dan Kuala Tutong, Mukim Pekan Tutong



  1. Mukim Kuala Belait
  2. Mukim Seria
  3. Mukim Labi
  4. Mukim Sukang
  5. Mukim Melilas

Village head:

  1. Kampung Sungai Teraban, Mukim Kuala Belait
  2. Kampung Sungai Liang, Mukim Liang
  3. Kampung Merangking, Mukim Bukit Sawat


Village head:

  1. Kampung Belais dan Buda-Buda, Mukim Bokok
  2. Kampung Belingos, Mukim Bangar
  3. Kampung Menengah, Mukim Bangar
  4. Kampung Selangan, Parit dan Biang Menengah, Mukim Amo
  5. Kampung Batu Apoi, Mukim Batu Apoi
  6. Kampung Tanjung Bungar, Mukim Batu Apoi



  1. Mukim Berakas ‘A’
  2. Mukim Serasa
  3. Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  4. Mukim Kianggeh
  5. Mukim Lumapas
  6. Mukim Kilanas
  7. Mukim Pangkalan Batu
  8. Mukim Sengkurong

Village head: 

  1. Kampung Kampung Lambak ‘A’, Mukim Berakas ‘A’
  2. Kampung Lambak ‘B’, Mukim Berakas ‘A’
  3. Kampung Manggis I dan Manggis II, Mukim Berakas ‘B’
  4. Kampung Sungai Tilong, Mukim Berakas ‘B’
  5. Kampung Tanah Jambu, Mukim Mentiri
  6. Kawasan 1, Kampung Rancangan Perumahan Negara Mentiri, Mukim Mentiri
  7. Kawasan 2, Kampung Rancangan Perumahan Negara Mentiri, Mukim Mentiri
  8. Kampung Rancangan Perumahan Negara Kampung Tanah Jambu, Mukim Mentiri
  9. Kampung Mentiri, Mukim Mentiri
  10. Kampung Belimbing, Mukim Kota Batu
  11. Kampung Menunggol, Mukim Kota Batu
  12. Kampung Subok, Mukim Kota Batu
  13. Kampung Pudak, Mukim Kota Batu
  14. Kampung Pulau Baru-Baru, Sungai Bunga dan Tanjong Kindana, Mukim Kota Batu
  15. Kawasan 1, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  16. Kawasan 2, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  17. Kawasan 3, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  18. Kawasan 4, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  19. Kawasan 5, Rancangan Perumahan Negara Rimba, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  20. Kampung Katok dan Tungku, Mukim Gadong ‘A’
  21. Kampung Kiulap, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  22. Kampung Perpindahan Mata-Mata, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  23. Kampung Menglait, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  24. Kampung Pengkalan Gadong, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  25. Skim Tanah Kurnia Rakyat Jati Katok ‘B’, Mukim Gadong ‘B’
  26. Kampung Tasek Meradun dan Bunut, Mukim Kilanas
  27. Kampung Tanjong Bunut, Mukim Kilanas
  28. Kampung Bunut Perpindahan, Mukim Kilanas
  29. Kampung Madewa dan Telanai, Mukim Kilanas
  30. Kampung Jangsak, Mukim Kilanas
  31. Kampung Lumapas ‘A’, Mukim Lumapas
  32. Kampung Lumapas ‘B’, Mukim Lumapas
  33. Kampung Putat, Mukim Lumapas
  34. Kampung Kasat, Mukim Lumapas
  35. Kampung Pengkalan Batu, Mukim Pengkalan Batu
  36. Kampung Junjungan, Mukim Pengkalan Batu
  37. Kampung Bebuloh, Mukim Pengkalan Batu
  38. Kampung Sengkurong ‘B’, Mukim Sengkurong
  39. Kampung Mulaut, Mukim Sengkurong
  40. Kampung Tanjong Nangka, Mukim Sengkurong
  41. Kampung Jerudong, Mukim Sengkurong
  42. Kampung Jerudong ‘B’ (Peninjau), Mukim Sengkurong
  43. Kampung Kulapis, Mukim Sengkurong 
  44. Kampung Kapok, Mukim Serasa